The “no-rule” rule of writing.

I love to finish the things I start.

And I hate it if I have to leave a task half done.

Well…

If you are anything like me, this probably leaves a dent in your writing and makes the end result of your efforts a lot less persuasive than it could be and probably boring as hell. I would go even as far as to say that if more people would do the thing I’m about to say… there would be a lot less boring copy on the internet, and definitely happier copywriters.

Not everyone has the balls to do this tho.

It hurts.

It’s much like the old(and morbid sounding) writing advice, “Kill your darlings.”

It certainly takes the same amount of courage.

Okay… Enough teasing… What I’m talking about is… Being able to totally scrap an email, sales page, blog, article, or script just because it’s boring.

Let me tell you…

If something is boring, it’s destined to fail.

And if you feel while you are writing that your copy is boring to you… Just imagine your prospect feeling at least 10X more bored than you.

It’s no good.

You either rewrite it… Or you behead it.

For a very, very long time I didn’t have the balls to do this. No way I’m going to undergo all that struggle again.

That’s a wrong mindset to be in.

It’s dangerous.

But listen to this:

There’s no rule in writing that says you have to finish what you started.

Meaning… If you started writing an email but it’s so boring even YOU are falling asleep while writing it, feel free to delete it and start over. Trust me, nobody will look down on you or think less of you. Nobody will even know. What they will know though, is that your copy will NOT be boring to read.

For more such morbid education in marketing and copywriting go over to:

https://kristofnemeth.vercel.app/

Kristof Nemeth.

Just Type In Your Primary Email Address To Get My Daily Tips And A FREE Book Gift

I respect your privacy. Unsubscribe any time.